William F. Brown – The Undertaker

Title:   THE UNDERTAKER

Author: William F. Brown

ISBN: 9781617505119

Page count: 389

Genre: Thriller/ Suspense/ Mystery

Price: $2.99

 

Author Bio:

William F. Brown lives in Columbus, Ohio.  As the Vice President of the real estate subsidiary of a Fortune 500 corporation, he traveled widely in the US and abroad.  A native of Chicago, he earned a BA in History and Russian Area Studies and a graduate degree from the University of Illinois.  He has been active in politics and numerous civic organizations over the years, and served as a company commander in Vietnam.

He is the author of two published suspense novels and two that are presently out with publishers.  Beaufort Books published his first novel, The Allah Conspiracy in hardback.  His second novel, Thursday at Noon is a Joan Kahn Book published by St. Martin’s Press in hardback, in paperback by Harlequin’s Gold Eagle, and in various foreign editions in the UK, Brazil, Canada, and Australia.  It was reviewed favorably in the New Yorker and in many other major publications.

In addition to the two novels, he has written four screenplays.  They won First Place in the suspense category of the Final Draft contest, Finalist in Fade In, First Place in the Screenwriter’s Utopia -Screenwriter’s Showcase Awards, Second Place in the American Screenwriter’s Association, Second Place at Breckenridge, and others.

 

Tell us about your book:

Curiosity can kill more than cats, but when Pete Talbott found himself at the wrong end of Gino Parini’s .45 reading his own obituary, it was a mystery he couldn’t leave alone.  From the cornfields of Ohio to the gritty slums of Chicago, a bloody kitchen in a Back Bay townhouse, New York’s Washington Square, and the nation’s Capitol itself, the hunt is on.  Someone with a penchant for sharp scalpels and embalming tables is planting bodies under other people’s names, and if Talbott doesn’t stop them, he and his quirky new girlfriend Sandy Kasmarek will be next on the Undertaker’s list.

Reviewer Comments on the Author’s earlier novels:

The New Yorker: “A thriller in the purest cliffhanger vein…  Mr. Brown’s technique is flawless.”

Publisher’s Weekly:  “Writing in the vein of Forsythe and Follett, Brown has produced a fast paced thriller…”

Worldwide Library:  “William F. Brown has written a mesmerizing tale…  making the unlikely seem all too real… explosive, fast paced action.”

The Orlando Sentinel:  “Brown’s novel is a rainy-day adventure with each chapter ending with a cliff-hanging ending.”

The Newport News VA Daily Press:  “A thrilling tale of espionage.  His novel never stands still for a second…   An espionage thriller about a Cairo missile crisis you’ll want to read right through in one sitting…  Brown ought to start writing the film script now.”

McNaughton Book Service: “Tightly plotted suspense in a fast-paced terrorist thriller.”

South Bend Tribune:  “An exceptional book of adventure, intrigue and history…  strong figures… a well-constructed, powerful story that predicts certain Armageddon.”

Kansas City Star: “He skillfully draws on recent American and Middle East history to portray a chilling situation…”

 

How long did it take to write the book?

You would think that would be an easy question to answer, but it is not.  I’ve written 5 novels, two published in hardback with various paperback and foreign rights sold, and no two took the same path.   The question is really, how many times did you re-write it, then put it down and write something else, then come back to it.   But the hardest part is to decide that it is done and type “the end.”  But, if it was linear, I probably spent 1 and ½ years on it.

 

What inspired you to write the book?

I was always a voracious reader and I wrote my first novel because I had read too many bad ones.   There was one specific one that was a best seller for which the very popular writer had just received a huge advance.  It was truly awful, and I said to myself, “I can write something better than that!”   So went to the library, researched how to do it, and set to work.  After it was published, I found I greatly enjoyed the creative process and couldn’t see not writing.  I simply enjoy the challenges and the process.  You do not do it for the money or the fame!

 

Talk about the writing process. Did you have a writing routine? Did you do any research, and if so, what did that involve?

Very, very few writers make enough money to live off it.   But a novel is like a marathon, not a sprint.   You must have a writing routine;, and most of us have day jobs, kids, yard work, and other distractions that always seem to interfere with it.  Over the years, I love to find out what process or system famous or successful writers use.  How many hours a day?   Paper, computer, or what?  Outline?   Character studies?   And how do you do that awful first draft, and how do you re-write?  You find that every writer does it differently.  I work best in the evening, usually 3-4 hours a night, and 6-8 hours a day on the weekends when I am really humping.

 

What do you hope your readers come away with after reading your book?

I write ‘swimming pool’ or ‘beach’ books.  I hope the reader has a lot of fun with it and gets so caught up in the pace and plot that they can’t put it down.

 

Where can we go to buy your book?

It is presently out on the Amazon Kindle site and should be on Sony, Barnes and Noble, and the rest by the end of February.

 

Any other links or info you’d like to share?

None.

 

Excerpt from book:

CHAPTER  ONE

Boston: where California meets Jersey…

I knew I was in trouble when Gino Parini shoved that .45 automatic in my face and made me read my own obituary.  I’m not talking about something vague or California-cosmic, like the San Andreas Fault will turn Nevada into beachfront property, or those McDonald’s French fries will seal my arteries shut, or second-hand smoke will give me lung cancer.  I’m talking about my own honest-to-God black-and-white obituary ripped from page thirty-two of that morning’s Columbus, Ohio newspaper:

TALBOTT, PETER EMERSON, age 33, of Columbus, died Sunday at Varner Clinic following a tragic automobile accident.  President and founder of Center Financial Advisors of Columbus.  Formerly of Los Angeles, a 1999 graduate of UCLA and a lieutenant, US Army Transportation Corps…

That was me.  I was Talbott, Peter Emerson, 33 years old, and formerly from Los Angeles.  I had graduated from UCLA and I had been a lieutenant in the Army. Coincidence?   I didn’t think so.  There was only one of me and I didn’t die in the Varner Clinic or anywhere else last Sunday.  I was an aeronautical software engineer and I had never been to Columbus or heard of Center Financial Advisors much less been its President.  Still, when you’re looking into a set of hard, dark eyes and a .45 automatic, it’s hard to argue the fine points.

But I’m getting ahead of myself…

Share